Dukie Grad: Mike Posner

So I’ve been loving Mike Posner’s cover to Coldplay’s “The Scientist” the past couple of days. Top of the iPod playlist, added to my phone as a potential ringtone, you name it. Posner does a great job of making such a chill song into an even more dope song. I like the original song, but can’t help but think that Posner’s version blows it out of the universe. With a mix of some heavy bass and some synth, the cover shouldn’t disappoint. Who knew that good things actually come out of Duke University 😛 (jk…and shout out to my 3 favorite Dukie Girls)!! Rating: 5/5

Mike Posner – The Scientist (Coldplay Cover)

Probably one of my favorite songs this year…

Mike Posner – Please Don’t Go (Dave Edwards Remix)

Dave Edwards does a solid job of mixing the song up, but I’m not sure if I’m completely sold on the intro to the song. Once the song drops, it does pick up a bit, but I couldn’t say this is my favorite remix of Dave Edwards. However, is it good enough to be played in clubs? I would say so…just not extensively overplayed please. Rating: 4/5

Mike Posner – Cheated (AudioDax Remix)

I’ve had this song for about a month now and since this is a post about Posner, I thought it would be appropriate to share it with you guys. I’m not sure if I had ever heard the original song (not even at the time of this post), but what I do know is that AudioDax lays down some great beats and a more than adequate (borderline dope) verse as well. UPDATE: the original doesn’t compare. Posner is a great artist to remix, and AudioDax scored himself a club banger. Rating: 4.5/5


Leave a Reply

